His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been sworn into office as the President of the Republic of Ghana for his second term. The 1992 Constitution that governs the nation states that one can become the President of the country for only two terms, with each term having a period of four years. This means that, when one gets elected for the first time as President, one will rule for four years and can contest again for another term.

After the 7th December 2020 election in all the polling stations across the country, the Electoral Commission of Ghana declared the candidate of the New Patriotic Party, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as the president-elect of Ghana. The declared result was rejected by many Ghanaians, especially supporters of the National Democratic Congress.

Read also: Police harass Umaru Sanda of Citi TV in traffic

There are several reasons for the rejection of the Presidential results, but key among them is allegations of voter fraud and the numerous arithmetic errors made by the Electoral Commission in calculating the outcome of the election.

The NDC has therefore filed a petition at the apex court of the land, the Supreme Court of Ghana, challenging the results. Per their petition, the party wants the court to declare the election null and void and give an order for a rerun of the election between the NDC candidate, Former President John Dramani Mahama and NPP candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Despite the petition, and after a long night of drama on who becomes the Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana, the candidate declared as President-elect by the Electoral Commission, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, was sworn into office on 7th January 2020 as required by the constitution.

In attendance were Heads of States and representatives of neighboring African countries and countries outside Africa. The event which was earlier scheduled to start at 9:00 am was rescheduled and therefore started at midday of January 7.

This was due to the inability of the Members of Parliament to cooperate and elect a Speaker for the Legislature as required by the constitution. The election of the Speaker was characterized with exchange of words, hitted arguments, ballot snatching and many other democratically unpleasant stuffs.

Read also: NDC officially files petition challenging the results of the 2020 election

After all the drama, Rt. Hon. Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin, the longest serving Member of Parliament was elected as the next Speaker of Parliament. Hon. Bagbin served as a Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo constituency for a period of 28 years and served as member of numerous committees in Parliament as well as some Ministerial positions before his election as Speaker.

The historic part of his story is the fact that it is the first time in the political history of Ghana for someone from a different political party to become the Speaker whiles the President also comes from a different political party.

If the petition filed by the NDC doesn’t go through, it will mean that President Akufo-Addo will serve his full four year term as president of Ghana. On the other hand, if the petition becomes successful, it would mean that there will be another election.

Source: insidergh.com


Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 20 290 5827